top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Ingold

The Perfect Bag

I’m on the hunt for the perfect carry-on bag. My requirements are simple: it must be TSA-compliant, it must be fairly durable, and because I’m going somewhere that is known for its unpredictable weather, it must be able to hold a couple seasons’ worth of clothes.


I wasn’t really thinking about luggage when I booked my flight back in September. At the time, my main concern was being able to afford the major travel expenses like airfare, car rental, and accommodation (hence why I gave myself nine months to plan this trip—plenty of time to work and save). Now that most of the big-ticket items are out of the way, I’ve been zooming in on some of the smaller considerations, including how I plan to haul my stuff across the border.


Sometime last year, I stumbled across this one-bagging subreddit. It’s essentially like r/OneBag, but with a focus on female-friendly packing tips. Propelled by the same minimalistic principles that made Marie Kondo a household name, the one-bag movement has been inspiring travellers both young and old, solo and partnered, to embark on adventures with only the bare necessities strapped to their back.


I guess I’ve always been a one-bagger at heart. I’ve done many weekends away with nothing but a small tote bag filled with a few outfits and some toiletries, and the freedom of not having to keep track of so much stuff can’t be overstated.


But those were weekend trips—they simply don’t compare to ten days in another country. Colorado in June is hot during the day and cool at night. Warm in the foothills, but chilly in the mountains. In certain cities along the Front Range corridor, like Boulder, afternoon thunderstorms are a common occurrence. The state sees 300+ days of sunshine per year, and because it sits roughly one mile closer to that blazing ball of light, the risk of skin damage from UV exposure is considerably higher than in other parts of the US.


As you can see, I’ve done my research. But there’s reading about something on Google, and then there’s, you know, actually being there.


Hence why finding the ideal bag has become one of my top priorities. I have a couple of old carry-on suitcases stowed away in my walk-in closet, but I’m looking for something I can wear for those half-marathons across Denver International Airport. Better yet if I can tuck it under the seat, since bin space isn't always guaranteed on fully-booked flights.


(The last time these guys saw the inside of an overhead bin, Turin was hosting the Winter Olympics, Hannah Montana made her Disney debut, and a litre of milk cost less than $2.00.)


I’ve had my eye on a couple of travel backpacks from brands like Matein, Homiee, and Hynes Eagle. Although this is my first solo trip, I’m fairly confident it won’t be my last, so I’m willing to invest in a high-quality bag that will last me a few years.


Oh, and one more point about carry-on bags: I’m looking for a true one-bag experience here. Not one bag and a personal item, not the classic carry-on and checked bag combo. One. Bag. If I’m going to the land of the free, I want to be as unencumbered as humanly possible.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page